John F. Blair, Publisher

What's New
About Us
Author Events
Manuscript Guidelines
Distributed Publishers
Browse our Books
All Titles (A-Z)
Author (A-Z)
Prospective Authors
Internships & Jobs
Rights & Permissions

Click here for our
Newsletter Archive

Jack, Olivia, & Suzannah Solomon

Jack and Olivia Solomon are well-known Alabama folklorists and writers. Their books include Cracklin Bread and Asfidity, Zickary Zan, Ghosts and Goosebumps, Sweet Bunch of Daisies, and Honey in the Rock. Mrs. Solomon is also the author of Wild, Wildwood Flower and Other Deep South Tales and Five Folk Comedies. Jack, born in Brantley, Alabama, grew up in Luverne, and Olivia was born in Tallassee, where they now live. Olivia attended the University of Alabama, where she earned both the A.B. and the M.A. degrees. They have three children—Jacqueline Harriette Ellen, Suzannah Olivia, and James Marion Willard. Jack received his A.B. at Troy State, M.A. at Columbia University, Ed.S. from George Peabody College, and completed postgraduate work at Auburn University.

Suzannah Solomon is the daughter of Jack and Olivia. Her photographs in Gone Home were made on family field trips while she was a student at Tallassee High School. Suzannah is a graduate of New College, University of Alabama, and is the proprietor of Suzannah’s Photography in Tallassee.

Gone Home, by the Solomons


Books by Jack & Olivia Solomon

Cracklin Bread and Asfidity (1979)

Ghosts and Goosebumps (1994)

Gone Home: Southern Folk Gravestone Art (2004)

Honey in the Rock (2002)

Sweet Bunch of Daisies (1991)

Zickary Zan


Books by Olivia Solomon

Five Folk Comedies (1983)

 Wild, Wildwood Flower and Other Deep South Tales