Carolina Wren Press

Carolina Wren Press is a non-profit publisher whose motto is new authors, new audiences.

The Press strives to publish quality writing, focusing on authors and subjects historically neglected by mainstream publishers, including women, people of color, authors with disabilities, and LGBT authors. True to its roots in downtown Durham, NC, the Press continues to look to the many voices of the South and beyond as sources of work and inspiration.

Both novels published by the Press in 2014 garnered critical praise and received industry awards: A Falling Star by Chantel Acevedo was awarded a national bronze medal for Multicultural Fiction from the Independent Book Publisher Awards, and The Ice Garden by Moira Crone received a gold medal for Best Fiction Southeast from the Independent Book Publisher Awards. In addition, A Falling Star is a finalist for the International Latino Book Award and the Balcones Fiction Prize. 

Founded in 1976 by Judy Hogan, Carolina Wren Press is based in Durham, NC. Throughout its history, the Press has published authors not only from North Carolina and the South at large, but from all over the country, with works of poetry, nonfiction, and fiction for adults.

The Press receives most of its submissions through its three major contests, the Carolina Wren Press Poetry Series Award, the Doris Bakwin Award for Writing by a Woman, and the Lee Smith Novel Prize. The inaugural Lee Smith Prize winner is Mulberry by Paulette Boudreaux, which has garnered praise from Tayari Jones, Kim Church, and the award namesake, Lee Smith, who said, “Trust me. This is one book you have never read before—fierce and honest, with a brave little heroine who’ll steal your heart.” The Press is accepting submissions for the second Lee Smith Novel Prize through November 2015 via Submittable.


Robin Miura, Director
Andrea Selch, President
Lynn York, Marketing Consultant

Contact Carolina Wren Press at (919) 560-2738 or email


From Carolina Wren Press

A Falling Star
by Chantel Acevedo

The Ice Garden
by Moira Crone

by Paulette Boudreaux

Midnight Bowling
by Quinn Dalton